Skip to content

Kymenlaakso and South Karelia (Etelä-Karjala)

Kymenlaakso is the province of Southeast Finland. The name of the province is given by the Kymijoki River, which runs along the largest settlements in the region. The area offers a number of winter and summer activities,  provides a wide range of outdoor opportunuties, beatiful landscapes and gives you an opportunity to enjoy finnish nature and hospitality. 

South Karelia is, according to its name, a southern part of the old historic Karelia. Cultural and historical area is part of the old Vyborg district. Kymenlaakso Regional Centers are the towns of Kotka and Kouvola. In Kotka there are, among other things, an Old Brewery, Concert hall, Sculpture Park, Sibelius Park, the administration of the Regional Council, the Central Hospital and the Provincial Museum. The northernmost municipality of South Karelia is Parikkala and the southernmost is Lappeenranta. The towns of Lappeenranta and Imatra offer a lot of services and possibilities to enjoy both outdor activities and to relax. The Art Museum, City Cultural-Historical Museum, shops and restaurants are open for visitors.